Customer reviews for Broan QT90L

Broan QT90L

90CFM Ventilation Fan/Light/Night Light DISCONTINUED
Overall rating:
4.688 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
15 out of 16(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for QT90L
Review 1 for QT90L
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this product is excellent

PostedJune 22, 2014
Customer avatar
FromLos Angeles, CA, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Ease of installation 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feature set 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I like this product and i will recommend it to a friend .
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for QT90L
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This top-of-the line bathroom fan performs extremely well.

PostedJune 2, 2014
Customer avatar
FromSalt Lake City, Utah
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Ease of installation 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feature set 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had inexpensive exhaust fans for way too long. Since I have a high-grade Viking exhaust hood for my kitchen that is very quiet, I finally decided to get a similar fan for my bathroom and purchased this model for its very low sone level. The noisy old fan did not move enough air and I had installed it incorrectly thirty-five years ago. It was driving me nuts!
I purchased this back in October of 2013, intending to install it before my daughter's family paid a visit. However, I didn't have time to do this due to other home improvements and the weather was too cold to work in my attic. I finally tackled the installation a couple of weeks ago when the weather turned nice. This was a challenge, mostly because the attic space was tight under the eaves, getting comfortable in this tight and very dusty space was impossible, and drilling a 4-1.2 " diameter hole through a 9" thick brick wall was difficult to make sure it was correctly aligned to have the duct go straight from the fan to the outside without bends. In addition, the existing drop ceiling made using tools was awkward since I am elderly and not in great shape. Thankfully the fan itself was a breeze to install. My electrical skills are poor so rerouting the circuits was another challenge, not because of the three function switch itself but because the existing circuits were ungrounded and ancient. I rerouted it to a newly installed GCFI outlet circuit in another tight space within a cabinet. The installation would have been a nightmare but your instructions were very clear. I actually didn't think it would work but your excellent instructions gave me the confidence to attempt this work. I dreaded the likelihood of having to go back up into the hot attic and fix any of the installation. I was thankful that everything worked so well.
After a long process of providing a new ground connection, I was delighted when everything was finally connected and I turned on the power. The fan is so smooth that the noise is like a soothing breeze; so quiet that I wasn't sure it was performing well. However, the amount of air it moves is at least three times what I had before - amazing!. It's great to take a hot shower and have absolutely no steamed windows and mirrors. My wife was frustrated at how long it took me but she was also delighted about the quality and esthetics of this fan.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for QT90L
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Powerful fan but quiet

PostedApril 28, 2014
Customer avatar
FromAltoona, PA, USA
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Ease of installation 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feature set 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This fan does a great job keeping my bathroom mold free. It moves a lot of air but it is very quiet. I painted the bathroom ceiling when I installed the fan and in over 3 years there as been no mold growth or paint peeling as there was with the previous fan. Great fan at a good price.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for QT90L
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this has the features i was looking for

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Fromsuffolk, va
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Ease of installation 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feature set 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've used Broan products since I built in 1974. these are my second replacements in those many years in 2 bath rooms and 4 boys. Features added was heat and both are even quitter than the old ones. ease of installation was helped by mu wiring was in place for the heat when it would be developed!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for QT90L
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent product

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Fromcentral ny
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Ease of installation 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feature set 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very impressed with how quiet this unit is. can hardly hear it run. moves a large volume of air also. very satisfied
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for QT90L
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

ok but electrical issues

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Customer avatar
FromSt. Marys, OH 45885, USA
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Ease of installation 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Feature set 
2 / 5
2 / 5
wiring extremely sensitive to moisture infiltration. plugs need to be better sealed from moisture especially since it is in a BATHROOM!!!! I bought this product mainly since it said it was made in USA. Would buy another one solely for that reason but you need to do a little more engineering on it. And thanks for not going to China with it. Finally got it to work correctly after 2 months of reworking it.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for QT90L
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Customer avatar
FromReading, PA, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Ease of installation 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feature set 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this product; I will be purchasing another for our second bathroom
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for QT90L
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice quiet operation

PostedJune 21, 2013
Customer avatar
FromNew Jersey
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Ease of installation 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feature set 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So quiet! Even my young grandchildren are not afraid of it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for QT90L
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent exhaust fan

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Customer avatar
FromToms River,NJ
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Ease of installation 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feature set 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This fan has been in the main shower/bath room in my house for over a year and performance is excellent. no steam on mirror no matter how long my teenage girls shower. The plastic lens should be made to fit a little tighter thank god it it runs so smoothly otherwise it could fall out of slots
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for QT90L
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very effective, no problems

PostedFebruary 20, 2013
Customer avatar
FromCT
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Ease of installation 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Feature set 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I bought this product about a year ago and haven't had a single issue. Very effective with sucking out moisture in the bathroom. The lights work great, and it's helpful to have a second, dimmer light in there in case you only want a small amount of light while in the shower. I would recommend this product.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for QT90L
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This fan is relatively quiet and moves the air well.

PostedFebruary 20, 2013
Customer avatar
FromParker, SD 57053, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Ease of installation 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Feature set 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We were looking for an exhaust fan that also had a light and was having a problem with finding one that would fit in the existing hole, this one only needed a slight modification.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for QT90L
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very pleased with performance from this fan along with minimal noise levels in comparison to the old unit.

PostedFebruary 20, 2013
Customer avatar
FromFleming Island, FL 32003, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Ease of installation 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feature set 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Broan was a replacement for an existing unit. To utilize the night light feature, I rewired the electrical feeder to fan and purchased a Three Function Control wall switch for their independant operation.
The fan and lights work as advertised. The only negative comment that I have is that to relamp the light fixtures, you should remove the fan assembly from the metal housing. This will ease in the removal of plastic lens to access the lamp sockets. Other than that shortcoming, the fan is meeting all my expectations.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for QT90L
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedFebruary 20, 2013
Customer avatar
FromHammond, NY 13646, USA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Ease of installation 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feature set 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We picked this model for the quietness and are very pleased with it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for QT90L
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Fan

PostedFebruary 20, 2013
Customer avatar
FromAlexandria, VA, USA
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Ease of installation 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Feature set 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The model I purchased is much quieter than the old one. Kudos there.
Installation from above very difficult due to limited attic space (clearance) and my size (6'3", 248 lbs.) A way needs to be found to make installation from below possible. I most definitely will buy this fan again when I replace the noisy one in the bathroom behind the kitchen! Thank you, Broan!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for QT90L
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Broan Vent Fan

PostedFebruary 20, 2013
Customer avatar
FromUtah
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Ease of installation 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feature set 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The fan was easy to install, and is very quiet. It moves a great volume of air, so the issue of mold in the bathroom is corrected.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for QT90L
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

this product has good features

PostedFebruary 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Fromtennessee
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Ease of installation 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Feature set 
3 / 5
3 / 5
the only thing i have issues about is the cover over the light. the cover on my unit is too small. it has fell down a couple of times. i finally put some scotch tape on it to hold it up. the unit works fine
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.